Big Fatty’s BBQ “Pulled Pork Sandwich, side of Hush-puppies”

Big Fatty’s BBQ is Burlington Vermont’s place for BBQ.  BBQ is a slow heat cooking method, often with smoke, commonly mistaken for “grilling” which is a high heat fast cooking method.

Big Fatty’s BBQ
Big Fatty’s BBQ is located towards the bottom of main st.

Big Fatty’s BBQ, Pull Pork Sandwich
8oz Pulled pork sandwich, house BBQ sauce, included side of cole slaw and BBQ Sauce.

Every since I had real pulled pork from a smoker, I can’t bring myself to order pulled pork from restaurants that I know don’t have a smoker on site. There is a tremendous (but not over powering) nice smoky aroma and taste to the generous helping of pork. The house BBQ sauce is slightly spicy and taken to the next level with what is probably bourbon mixed in. The combination of great sauce and great pork is awesome. I also like that there is a side of sauce, so you can add more sauce or use your fork to dip the remaining pulled pork into the sauce after the sandwich is gone. This sandwich is so good, that I haven’t even tried the ribs or anything else on the menu.

I don’t usually don’t care for coleslaw, so I may not be the best judge, the slaw seemed to be fresh and bland.

Big Fatty’s BBQ, Hushpuppies
Hush-puppies are deep-fried cornbread balls, Big Fatty’s version are rolled in bacon bits.

When hush-puppies have succeeded in my mind, they still retain some of the cornbready-ness in the center, and are crispy on the outside. These seemed to be cooked at too low a temperature of oil or the batter doesn’t have enough air. Either way, too dense and poor texture, although I love the idea of the bacon bits. I would recommend a different side.

Both items were $9.25 with tax.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Big Fatty’s BBQ “Pulled Pork Sandwich, side of Hush-puppies””

  1. Jason Says:

    I had a pulled pork sandwich from them about a year ago. It was good, but I thought the whole joint was way over priced.

    I agree that the hush-puppies were very disappointing.

  2. Bryan B Says:

    Big Fatty’s is a BIG Disappointment.

  3. sandrar Says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. Erikah R Says:

    wow tht food looks rlly great i luv ur blog!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

