Tiny Thai, “Chicken Satay, Pad Prik Khing”

Tiny Thai has expanded from its Essex Vermont location, to a new Winooski Vermont location (down the street from Sneakers). It had been a while since I had Thai food, so I decided to “Thai one on” for lunch.

Tiny Thai, Winooksi Vermont
Tiny Thai, Winooski Vermont

Tiny Thai - Chicken Satay
Chicken Satay, side of peanut sauce.

This is the best satay I’ve ever had. The chicken skewers (4) are marinated in coconut milk and spices (curry?), then grilled, it’s served with a slightly spicy peanut sauce, which has chunks of peanuts and more coconut milk. Other satay I’ve had doesn’t have any coconut milk in it, the chicken in this version is wonderfully moist and flavorful. I would almost consider ordering a double order of these and having that for lunch.

Tiny Thai - Pad Prik Khing
Tiny Thai – Pad Prik Khing

Pad Prik Khing apparently translates into stir-fried chili ginger. The carrots and green beans are nice and crisp, the Prik Khing curry paste has a nice texture, and nice heat. I think I may have become sensitized to fish sauce, as this dish was a little too “fishy” for me and I’ve enjoyed Pad Prik Khing in the past. It’s served with a nice portion of Jasmine rice.

The satay was $4.50 and the Pad Prik Khing was $5.95 before tax.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Tiny Thai, “Chicken Satay, Pad Prik Khing””

  1. Jay Says:

    I really enjoy reading your entries. Please keep it up!

  2. tia Says:

    to grrrrrrrrrrrrressssssey man

Leave a Reply

