China Express, “General Tso’s Chicken & Wanton Soup”

I was feeling a little under the weather, so wanting some soup I went to China Express on Shelburne road in Burlington Vermont.

China Express
China Express’s hard to miss sign.

China Express - Small Wanton Soup
China Express – Small Wanton Soup

I love wanton soup, I did something differently this time when eating it… I used chopsticks. This is a fun way to eat the wantons, I will probably do this again in the future. I like the addition of green onions in the soup, both on the flavor and visual level. The broth was a little bland, and the wantons had a flour-like texture, which isn’t great. That being said, I would probably order it again as I love wanton soup, but I’ve had better.

China Express - Small Wanton Soup (detail)
China Express – Small Wanton Soup (detail). Also of note a couple strips of pork in the soup.

China Express - fried chow mein soup noodles
China Express – fried chow mein soup noodles.

One of the few things included in the take-out bag were these soup noodles, these were indeed a good salty, crunchy addition in the soup, but not very good on their own. In addition to the soup I also ordered a Chinese food standby General Tso Chicken.

China Express - General Tso’s Chicken

China Express – General Tso’s Chicken

China Express does a good General Tso’s chicken, the battered chicken is slightly crisp, there isn’t too much batter, the sauce is not overly sweet and it has some acid, spice notes. General Tso’s is supposed to have some heat, and the heat was missing in this dish, I would recommend when ordering asking for the General Tso’s “spicy”. I also like the steamed broccoli edible garnishes. Also on the healthy note, you can order brown rice instead of white, which adds a little whole grain to this otherwise sinful dish.

Other things that I like about China Express, easy to get to from Exit 13 on the Interstate 89, awesome (recyclable?) lunch containers, complimentary tea while you wait (I grabbed a tea bag to go). I also like the fact that they don’t cram a bunch of the cheap condiments and plastic ustentials into the bag, letting you select your own.

The small wanton soup was $1.75 and the General Tso’s (lunch Size) was $4.75 before tax.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “China Express, “General Tso’s Chicken & Wanton Soup””

  1. amyletinsky Says:

    Hope you’re feeling better (did the wanton soup did the trick?). Personally, when I’m feeling under the weather, Matzo ball soup is what I go for. Nothing works like it!

    About the General Tso’s Chicken…I looked long and hard around Burlington for some Chinese food that was spicy enough for me. In Washington, I always have to tell them to tame it down, it seems, or I’ll get burnt! I don’t know why the coasts have such different ideas about heat in their Chinese or other Asian foods. Any ideas?

  2. whats4lunch Says:

    Yes I agree that Chinese food in Vermont tends to be bland, I’m glad to hear that’s not the case everywhere in the US. I’m wondering if the Asian food on the west coast is a little more authentic since the west coast is a little closer to Asia? Is there a larger Asian population on the west coast?

    I like Matzo ball soup as well, I don’t know any where around hear to get some for lunch, perhaps when the Jewish Deli comes in.

  3. amyletinsky Says:

    I discovered this wonderful little product called “chili oil” that really packs a punch, and you can get it at most asian markets. It usually comes in a really tiny bottle, travel size, so if you feel very ambitious, you can carry it with you to your favorite Chinese or Thai lunch spot, just to spice things up a little on the sly. =)

    We have a wonderfully large asian population here in Seattle, especially Vietnamese. The Vietnamese soup here (pho) is incredible! If you visit, I can recommend all the best spots, since I’m always trying new places.

    Actually, the area near where I live, The Ranier Valley, boasts the most diverse zip code in the entire country. There are over 100 languages spoken here, many of which are asian dialects. Not to knock Vermont, but I did miss this sort of diversity when I was living there. It’s wonderful to be surrounded by this much varity in culture, just when going to the grocery store!

    I never found a place in Vermont that served Matzo ball soup, but the Jewish deli makes sense! Also, in a pinch, home cooked manachawitz (sp?) from the box is pretty tasty. Cheap too.

  4. tha ikenator Says:

    I have two potential ideas for General Tzo—My former stand-by is the cart at UVM (not sure the name of the street) in front of the art building. That family has been serving decent Chinese food includinng Gen T chicken for quite a long time, and they always have “spicy sauce” available as an extra condiment if you ask for it. 2. Hong Kong Kitchen on Williston road has good Gen T, and they will make it extra spicy for you if you ask (they do not deliver, pick-up only). Truth be told, it is not that spicy, which is why i also put on some extra spice once I get it home—try using Rooster sauce http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sriracha

    Tangy, spicy, and “Tzo” delicious.

  5. matty Says:

    Come one down to beautiful houston tx. It doesn’t matter who takes your order or delivers your food from the Asian restaurants, the cooks are all Hispanic. I’m not knocking it though. Just laying down the facts. Its great food and there is no lack of spice down here. Spice is nice. It gets more authentic and full of new dishes and surprises when going deeper into china town.

  6. Ira Guidi Says:

    My partner and i this kind of yahoo and google, with regard to producing that, has been just what My spouse and i used to pertaining to!

  7. 李钧 Says:

    nobody use chopsticks to eat wanton in China.

Leave a Reply

