Mexicali – “Chile Relleno”

Mexicali is a Tex-Mex restaurant in Williston Vermont, on the back side of Best Buy.  Mexicali has great margaritas and an awesome salsa bar:

Mexicali - Salsa bar
Mexicali – Salsa bar

Mexicali - Chile Relleno
Mexicali – Chile Relleno

I was introduced to Chile Relleno at Penny Cluse Cafe, I’m using their version as a reference of what I like. I like the presentation of this plate, but taste-wise I think their could be some tweaks. First what is Chile Relleno?

Chile Relleno consists of pan or deep deep fried pablano peppers, which are quite mild and have a nice flavor. Typically the peppers are stuffed with at least cheese, and finally covered with some sort of sauce / salsa.

In Mexicali’s version, they stuff their pablanos with chicken and cheese. I love the fact that they went for something beyond cheese for the stuffing, however they used chicken cubed chicken breast. Chicken breast is healthy, but the texture and flavor is wrong for this dish. Shredded seasoned chicken would have been a much better choice. Additionally the sauce was a little bland (a suprise considering the yummy salsa bar options). Finally I didn’t like the eggy-breading, it concealed the sublte pablano flavor. The side of beans were good, but the cornbread missed, too sweet and moist.

At $11, I would order something other than the Chile Relleno at Mexicali.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Mexicali – “Chile Relleno””

  1. frontporchreviews Says:

    I haven’t eaten at mexicali in a couple of years because I was so disappointed the last few times I had went. The first time I was hoping it was a bad day for them so I went a second time. The third time I only went because there was a group from working celebrating a birthday there. Haven’t been back since. Wish Tortilla Flats was still open.

Leave a Reply

