Leunig’s Bistro – Vermont Pancake Napoleon

Leunig's Bistro - Burlington Vermont

Leunig's Bistro - Burlington Vermont

Church Street in Burlington Vermont is home to the only French restaurant that I’m aware of in the city of Burlington. Notice the the outdoor seating and pedestal heaters, Leunig’s Bistro even uses a tent to extend their outside seating in the fall.

Leunig’s is a bit of an institution, so much so that the owner renamed the building (I love the Art-Deco look of the building):

Leunig's Building - Burlington Vermont

Leunig's Building - Burlington Vermont

In the spirit of ordering something “Frenchy” I tried their Vermont Pancake Napoleon, brunch menu here.

Leunig's Bistro - Vermont Pancake Napoleon

Leunig's Bistro - Vermont Pancake Napoleon

Visually this is awesome, and slightly whimsical dish. Usually when I think of a napoleon I think of the French pastry. The pancakes are very fork tender, however I couldn’t decide if I should apply maple syrup? I of course tried it with and without. The Vermont Pancake Napoleon is rich enough that it doesn’t need maple syrup, but it does add to this dish.  It also fun to pour some syrup spilling over the edge of this tower.

The savory Vermont meat and cheese were very nice as expected. The Napoleon proved to be a little small, and at $14 it’s the highest priced item on the brunch menu. It’s fun to try and look at, but over priced.

The double espresso size however was generous (sorry forgot to take a picture). A valid complaint my brunch-buddy voiced was Leunig’s doesn’t offer any pastries with brunch. I will be back to try something things on the brunch menu, and I do recommend Leunig’s for dinner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Leunig’s Bistro – Vermont Pancake Napoleon”

  1. Chef Chick Says:

    what is on this intriguing brunch dish? It’s still a bread but it’s nicely done. I would get down with it.

  2. chef chick Says:

    I am down with that. It would be lettuce leaves for a week afterward but worth it.

    I do blaspheme with sugar free maple type thick pancake condiment substance.

Leave a Reply

