Doughboy’s – Meatloaf Sandwich

Doughboy's Restaurant - Burlington Vermont

Doughboy's Restaurant - Burlington Vermont

Walking into Doughboys is like walking into an alternate strange albeit delicious universe. Doughboys is located on the edge of the Old North End (ONE) on Pearl Street in Burlington Vermont. Next door to the restaurant / diner is a bakery where they have doughnuts, I’ll have to review them in the future. The decor looks like it hasn’t been changed since the place opened in 1979, but coinciding with that the prices are extremely reasonable. The service at this family affair is very friendly.

Doughboys - Meatloaf sandwich

Doughboys - Meatloaf sandwich

I didn’t eat a lot of meatloaf growing up, so this comfort food is still novel to me. I like meatloaf in sandwiches with cheddar, lettuce, fresh tomato on toasted rye, ketchup completes the the sandwich. The meatloaf is griddled, super moist and has great onion flavor from the onions in the loaf. The sandwich comes with chips and pickles slices for an amazing $4.25 (before tax). I think the danger of going to Doughboys is that you feel like you can eat like a monarch and order too much food. The onion rings were OK, kinda bland I’ll probably try the fries next time as I wonder if they’re hand-cut? Admittedly I’m VERY picky about onion rings.

Doughboy's - Pumkin Pie

Doughboy's - Pumkin Pie

In true diner style there was pie available. The pumpkin filling had nice subtle spice to it, and the crust was good, however a little low on the flakeyness scale. I enjoyed the REAL whipped cream. I believe the pie was $2.50? Doughboys is fun to eat at, and the food is inexpensive, I’ll be back. I recommend exploring the Doughboys bakery as I don’t know any other place that makes doughnuts in Burlington (besides the poaching Dunkin Donuts across the street).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Doughboy’s – Meatloaf Sandwich”

  1. Emily Says:

    Hey Nick, Do you ever make your own grub? If so, check out our comfort food recipe contest at http://marxfood.com – the prize rocks!

  2. Colin Says:

    Good update. I haven’t been to that place in over 15 years. I’ll have to check it out I do remember they had a good breakfast.

    I agree that it’s also sad that they may be one of the few donuts places left. I sure miss the old bakery in the Ethan Allen Shopping center, they had some of the best bake goods I had had in my whole life.

  3. whats4lunch Says:

    Hmm, I guess I never made it to that bakery. I’m sad that NECI is no longer on Church Street, they had great baked goods. I try to make it into La Brioche Bakery (also NECI run) when I’m in Montpelier Vermont.

  4. Chef Chick Says:

    more bread! OINK with fried things! OINK OINK! hahah My thighs may start to jiggle if I read any more of this.

Leave a Reply

