Philly Cart – Cheesesteak

After the dearth of good Philly Cheesesteaks in town, on my way home on Friday I stopped at a suspicious cart on Bank Street (near the corner of Bank and Church) in Burlington Vermont:
Philly Cart - Burlington Vermont

Philly Cart - Burlington Vermont

 After a quick interrogation of the vendor, I discovered he was indeed slinging cheesesteaks.

The Amoroso bakeryplacard plastered on the side of the cart may have been a good clue. Notice the above photo the technique. He chops the fresh shaved ribeye steak “from New York” on the cooler (left) side of the griddle then added pre-sweated onions to the mix and grills it on the right hotter side.

Philly Cheesesteak - Burlington Vermont

Philly Cheesesteak - Burlington Vermont

Three slices of American cheese also are part of the formula. All of this is crammed into the aforementioned famous (for Phillys) roll.
The taste? Tremendous! It reminds me of when I had my first “cheesesteak” on a family trip to Maine, known in those parts as a “steak bomb”.
 This folks is a mean mean cheesesteak, I’m not sure if it will earn my number one cheesesteak spot; I’ll have to
do some more “research”. The vendor promises to be around starting at 11am during the week, save Mondays and Tuesdays.
Oh and it’s $6.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Philly Cart – Cheesesteak”

  1. Doreen Frost Says:

    Delicious!!!!

  2. amyletinsky Says:

    I’m so jealous. Seattle people don’t even know what a cheesteak is, let alone serve them. *sigh*

    It’s awesome how you’re supporting local small businesses this way!

    By the way, have you considered using Twitter to do short tweets on your good eats? Might be a nice way to share. Here’s my twitter link: http://twitter.com/amyletinsky

  3. julesworld Says:

    your page makes me very hungry! 😉

  4. thefoodinsulter Says:

    yoo Nick. Ah, the delectable images of my favorite culinary treat. I’m very glad you recognized the Amoroso’s rolls, for most who are unfamiliar with the cheesesteak fail to realize how fundamentally important the HOAGIE roll is to the whole operation. Keep up the good work!

  5. TL Martin Says:

    does anyone know if this street vendor is still in Burlington and if so where ? Thanks

Leave a Reply

